Jones & Bartlett Learning Nursing Blog

    Jones & Bartlett Learning Awarded Three 2014 AJN Book of the Year Awards

    Posted by Katie Hennessy on Jan 16, 2015 1:49:11 PM

    AJN Book of the YearOutstanding news to share-- we've received three 2014 AJN Book of the Year Awards from the American Journal of Nursing. Representing the best in nursing publishing and encompassing a wide-variety of categories, the 2014 AJN Book of the Year Awards acknowledge the most valuable texts published between August 2013 and August 2014.

    The Jones & Bartlett Learning title awarded First Place in the Palliative Care and Hospice category included 2014 Oncology Nursing Drug Handbook by Gail M. Wilkes and Margaret Barton-Burke. Nursing Informatics and the Foundation of Knowledge, Third Edition by Dee McGonigle and Kathleen Garver Mastrian received Second Place in the Information Technology/Social Media category. Critical Thinking TACTICS for Nurses: Achieving the IOM Competencies, Third Edition by M. Gaie Rubenfeld and Barbara Scheffer was awarded Second Place in the Nursing Education/Continuing Education category.

    “Jones & Bartlett Learning is truly honored to accept this prestigious recognition from AJN, further validating the hard work and dedication of our esteemed authors and our publishing team. We observe these awards as confirmation of our ongoing efforts to provide high quality, cutting edge, and peer reviewed resources to the field of nursing and nursing education.” – Amanda Martin, Executive Editor, Jones & Bartlett Learning

    About the award winners:

    2014 Oncology Nursing Drug HandbookWritten especially for nurses caring for patients with cancer, the 2014 Oncology Nursing Drug Handbook uniquely expresses drug therapy in terms of the nursing process: nursing diagnoses, etiologies of toxicities, and key points for nursing assessment, intervention, and evaluation. Updated annually, this essential reference provides valuable information on effective symptom management, patient education, and chemotherapy administration. Completely revised and updated, it features a new chapter on Chemobiotherapy for Noncancer Diseases. New drug entries include: enzalutamide, omacetaxine (Synribo), tbo-filgrastim (Netroval), ado-trastuzumab emtansine, aflibercept, bosutinib, cabozantinib, carfilzomib, dabrafenib, pomalidomide, ponatinib, regorafenib, trametinib, abatacept (Orencia), adalimumab (Humira), certolizumab pegol (CIMZA), etanercept (Enbrel), golimumab (Simponi), infliximab (Remicade), tocilizumab (Actemra), and tofacitinib (Xeljanz).

    Nursing Informatics and the Foundation of Knowledge, Third EditionNursing Informatics and the Foundation of Knowledge, Third Edition by Dee McGonigle and Kathleen Garver Mastrian is the definitive text for nursing informatics courses. Grounded in the Foundation of Knowledge Model, it is an outstanding student resource and guide to the history of healthcare informatics, current issues, basic informatics concepts, and health information management applications. This comprehensive text includes the building blocks of informatics through complicated topics such as data mining, bioinformatics, and system development. The Third Edition has been expanded to include informatics coverage for all levels of nursing practice from a Bachelor’s Degree through a DNP degree. New to this edition is a chapter on Data Mining as a Research Tool and The Art of Caring in Technology Laden Environments.

    Critical Thinking TACTICS for Nurses, Third EditionCritical Thinking TACTICS for Nurses: Achieving IOM Competencies, Third Edition is a user-friendly and practical manual focusing on the day-to-day realities of doing, learning, and evaluating critical thinking in nursing. With clear examples of both the parts and the whole of this complex process, each chapter includes action learning activities to promote critical thinking: Tracking, Assessing, and Cultivating Thinking to Improve Competency-based Strategies or TACTICS. Completely updated and revised, it offers critical thinking components combined with the Institute of Medicine's (IOM) five core competencies. New to this edition are updated case studies, new illustrations, new content on how to facilitate synthesis of high level critical thinking, additional content on critical thinking within the nursing process, increased TACTICS, and new appendices to assist with the assessment of critical thinking.

    We are so grateful for this prestigious honor from AJN! To learn more about Jones & Bartlett Learning nursing resources, visit our website.

    Topics: AJN, AJN Book of the Year Award, Award, American Journal of Nursing, nursing

    Subscribe to Blog Email Updates

    Recent Posts

    Posts by Topic

    see all